Arizona Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
This article explores a few of the key Arizona laws related to car accidents and settlements.
If you have been involved in a car accident in Arizona, it is very important that you get a sense of what to expect if you decide to make a claim for injuries or seek compensation for vehicle damage, whether via an insurance claim settlement or car accident lawsuit.
This page provides a guide to our Arizona resources on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, including some of the key Arizona laws that could affect your car accident claim, and tips on contacting an Arizona car accident lawyer to get help if you need it.
Arizona Car Accident Laws
After a car accident in Arizona, if you decide to file a liability claim against the at-fault driver, there are a few state laws that could have an effect on your case, beginning with the time limit for getting lawsuits started in Arizona (this kind of law is called a statute of limitations, and every state has one).
In Arizona, you have two years from the date of the car accident to get a personal injury lawsuit started, by filing in the initial complaint with the proper branch of the state’s civil court system. You can find the full text of this law at Title 12, Article 3, sections 12-541 and 12-542 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.
Learn more about Arizona’s car accident lawsuit filing deadline -- and other state laws that could impact your case -- in Car Accident Laws in Arizona.
Arizona Car Insurance Rules and Requirements
After any car accident in Arizona, car insurance coverage will almost certainly play a big role, whether you make a claim under your own policy or with the other driver’s insurance company (the latter is known as a third party car insurance claim). Here is a brief overview of Arizona’s car insurance rules and requirements:
- Arizona is a “fault” car insurance state, so after a car accident you are free to file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against the other driver (you can also make a claim under your own coverage if you choose to do so).
- The minimum car insurance coverage requirements for drivers in Arizona are: $15,000 per person for bodily injury liability, $30,000 per accident when more than one person suffers injuries, and $10,000 for property damage caused by the accident.
- Arizona does not require drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage, but it is an option when you purchase a car insurance policy from a carrier in the state.
For more in-depth information, check out our article Arizona Car Insurance Requirements and Rules.
Contact a Arizona Car Accident Lawyer
You may not need to hire an Arizona car accident lawyer if your case is fairly straightforward. For example, if you’re in a fender bender, and the other driver’s insurance company accepts liability and offers a settlement, you can probably handle it yourself.
But if the other driver’s insurance company is saying you were at fault for the car accident, or if you suffered significant injuries, a lot more might be at stake, and it’s a good idea to discuss your situation with a car accident lawyer.
A good car accident attorney knows how to handle the back-and-forth of settlement negotiation, and understands the best way to protect your rights at every stage in the injury claim process, including filing a car accident lawsuit in the Arizona civil court system if it comes to that.