Alabama Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
If you’ve been in a car accident in Alabama, you may wonder how your state’s laws affect your chances of winning an insurance settlement or a court case.
If you have been involved (or injured) in a car accident in Alabama, there are a number of state laws that could affect any insurance claim or injury lawsuit you decide to make. This page provides a guide to the Alabama-specific resources on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, including key Alabama car accident laws and car insurance rules. We’ll also provide tips on when it might be a good idea to contact an Alabama car accident lawyer.
Alabama Car Accident Laws
After a car accident in Alabama, if you decide to file a liability claim against the at-fault driver, there are a few state laws that you need to keep in mind, beginning with the time limit for getting a lawsuit started in Alabama (this kind of law is called a statute of limitations, and every state has one).
In Alabama, whether you are filing a lawsuit for personal injury or vehicle damage after a car accident, you have two years from the date of the crash to file the complaint in Alabama’s civil court system. You can find this law at Code of Alabama Title 6, Chapter 2, section 6-2-38 (l). If you don’t get your case filed before the statutory deadline passes, you lose your right to have a court hear it. So it’s critical to follow the statute of limitations as it applies to your case.
Learn more about Alabama’s car accident lawsuit filing deadline, Alabama’s (fairly harsh) rules when it comes to shared fault for a car accident, and other state laws that could impact your case -- in Car Accident Laws in Alabama.
Alabama Car Insurance Requirements and Rules
After any car accident in Alabama, car insurance coverage will almost certainly play a big role, whether you are making a claim under your own policy or with the at-fault driver’s carrier (the latter is known as a third party car insurance claim). Here is a brief overview of Alabama’s car insurance rules and requirements:
- Alabama is a “fault” or “tort” car insurance state, which simply means that after a car accident you are free to file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against the other driver (you can also make a claim under your own coverage if you choose to do so).
- The minimum car insurance coverage requirements for drivers in Alabama are: $25,000 for one person injured in an accident, $50,000 for each accident in which more than one person is injured, and $25,000 for each accident that causes property damage.
- In Alabama, car insurance carriers must include uninsured motorist coverage with any car insurance policy they issue, unless the policy purchaser declines this kind of coverage in a written waiver.
For more details, check out Alabama Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.
Contact an Alabama Car Accident Lawyer
You may not need to hire an Alabama car accident lawyer if your case is pretty simple and you weren’t seriously injured. For example, if you’re rear-ended in traffic, the other driver’s insurance company accepts liability, and they offer you a settlement that covers your losses plus a little extra for your trouble, you can probably handle that kind of claim yourself.
But if the other driver’s insurance company is saying you were at fault for the car accident, or if you suffered significant injuries, a lot more might be at stake, and it’s a good idea to discuss your situation with a car accident lawyer.
A good car accident attorney knows how to handle the back-and-forth of settlement negotiation, and understands the best way to protect your rights at every stage in the injury claim process, including filing a car accident lawsuit in the Alabama civil court system if it comes to that.