Alaska Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
If you have been injured or incurred vehicle damage in a car accident in Alaska, a number of state laws could affect any insurance claim or lawsuit you decide to pursue.
If you have been injured or incurred vehicle damage in a car accident in Alaska, a number of state laws could affect any insurance claim or lawsuit you decide to pursue. This page provides a guide to the Alaska-specific resources on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, including key state laws and car insurance rules. We’ll also provide tips on when it might be a good idea to contact an Alaska car accident lawyer for help with your claim.
Alaska Car Accident Laws
After a car accident in Alaska, if you decide to file a liability claim against the at-fault driver, there are a few state laws that might come into play, beginning with the time limit for getting a lawsuit started in Alaska (this type of law is called a statute of limitations, and every state has one).
In Alaska, whether you are filing a lawsuit for personal injury or vehicle damage after a car accident, you have two years from the date of the crash to file the complaint in Alaska’s civil court system. You can find this law at Alaska Statutes section 9.10.070. What happens if you don’t get your case filed before the statutory deadline passes? The court will almost certainly refuse to hear it. So it’s critical to follow the statute of limitations as it applies to your case.
Learn more about Alaska’s lawsuit filing deadline and other state laws that could impact your car accident case in Car Accident Laws in Alaska.
Alaska Car Insurance Requirements and Rules
If you’re making an injury or property damage claim after a car accident in Alaska, car insurance coverage will almost certainly play a big role, whether you are making a claim under your own policy or with the at-fault driver’s carrier (the latter is known as a third party car insurance claim). Here is a brief overview of Alaska’s car insurance rules and requirements:
- Alaska is a “fault” or “tort” car insurance state, which simply means that after a car accident you are free to file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against the other driver (you can also make a claim under your own coverage if you choose to do so).
- The minimum car insurance coverage requirements for drivers in Alaska are: for bodily injury liability, minimums are $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident. For property (vehicle) damage liability, the minimum amount of coverage is $25,000 per accident.
- In Alaska, car insurance carriers must include uninsured motorist coverage with any car insurance policy they issue, unless the policy purchaser declines this kind of coverage in a written waiver.
For more details, check out Alaska Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.
Contact an Alaska Car Accident Lawyer
You may not need to hire an Alaska car accident lawyer if your case is fairly simple and you didn’t suffer serious injuries. So, if you were rear-ended at very low speed and the other driver’s insurance company accepts liability, you can probably handle that kind of claim yourself as long as you’re comfortable doing so.
But if the other driver’s insurance adjuster is saying you were at fault for the car accident, or if you suffered significant injuries, things can get contentious and complicated pretty quickly, and it might be a good idea to discuss your situation with a nearby car accident lawyer.
A good car accident attorney knows how to handle the back-and-forth of settlement negotiation, and understands the best way to protect your rights at every stage in the injury claim process, including filing a car accident lawsuit in the Alaska civil court system if it comes to that.