Colorado Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
If you have been involved in a car accident in Colorado, a number of state laws could affect any insurance claim or lawsuit you decide to pursue.
Talk to a Car Accident Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
If you have been involved in a car accident in Colorado, a number of state laws could affect any insurance claim or lawsuit you decide to pursue. This page provides a guide to the Colorado-specific resources on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, including key state laws and car insurance rules. We’ll also provide tips on when it might be a good idea to contact a Colorado car accident lawyer for help with your claim.
Colorado Car Accident Laws
After a car accident in Colorado, if you decide to pursue a lawsuit against the at-fault driver, there are a few state laws that you need to know about, beginning with the time limit for getting a lawsuit started in Colorado (this type of law is called a statute of limitations, and every state has one).
In Colorado, whether you are filing a lawsuit for personal injury or for vehicle damage after a car accident, you have two years from the date of the crash to file the complaint in Colorado’s civil court system (the complaint is the court document that gets the case started). You can find this law at Colorado Revised Statutes Sections 13-80-102 and 13-80-103. What happens if you don’t get your case filed before the statutory deadline passes? The court will almost certainly throw your lawsuit out as time-barred. So it’s critical to pay attention to the statute of limitations as it applies to your case.
Learn more about Colorado’s lawsuit filing deadline and other state laws that could impact your car accident case in Car Accident Laws in Colorado.
Colorado Car Insurance Requirements and Rules
If you are making an injury or vehicle damage claim after a car accident in Colorado, car insurance coverage will almost certainly play a big role, whether you are making a claim with your own carrier or with the at-fault driver’s insurer (the latter is known as a third party car insurance claim). Here is a brief overview of Colorado’s car insurance rules and requirements:
- As of 2003, Colorado is now a “fault” or “tort” car insurance state, which simply means that after a car accident you are free to file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against the other driver (you can also make a claim under your own coverage if you choose to do so). Prior to 2003, Colorado was a no-fault car insurance state.
- The minimum car insurance coverage requirements for drivers in Colorado are: $25,000 per person for legal liability related to bodily injuries, $50,000 per accident for legal liability, if more than one person is injured, and $15,000 per accident for property damage (not including damage to the insured's own vehicle).
- In Colorado, car insurance carriers must offer uninsured motorist coverage alongside any new or renewed car or motorcycle insurance policy, in an amount equal to the customer’s bodily injury liability limits. But drivers and riders in Colorado are not required to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage.
For more details, check out Colorado Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.
Contact a Colorado Car Accident Lawyer
You may not need to hire a Colorado car accident lawyer if your situation is fairly straightforward and you didn’t suffer serious injuries in the accident. Especially if the other driver’s insurer is accepting liability, you can probably handle that kind of claim yourself as long as you’re comfortable doing so.
But if the other driver’s insurance adjuster is saying you were at fault for the car accident, or if you suffered significant injuries, things can get contentious and complicated pretty quickly, and it might be a good idea to discuss your situation with a nearby car accident lawyer.
A good car accident attorney knows how to handle the back-and-forth of settlement negotiation, and understands the best way to protect your rights at every stage in the injury claim process, including filing a car accident lawsuit in the Colorado civil court system if it comes to that.