Indiana Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
After a car accident in Indiana, if you decide to file a liability claim or lawsuit against the at-fault driver, there are a few state laws to know about, starting with the time limit for getting a lawsuit started in Indiana’s civil court system.
Talk to a Car Accident Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
After any car accident in Indiana it helps to understand the different state laws that could affect any insurance claim or lawsuit that might be filed -- by you, another driver, or a passenger -- and any settlement you end up receiving. This page serves as a guide to the Indiana-specific resources on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, including car accident laws and car insurance rules. We’ll also provide tips in when it may make sense to contact an Indiana lawyer for help with your car accident claim.
Indiana Car Accident Laws
After a car accident in Indiana, if you decide to file a liability claim or lawsuit against the at-fault driver, there are a few state laws to know about, starting with the time limit for getting a lawsuit started in Indiana’s civil court system (that means getting the initial complaint filed to start the case). This type of law is called a statute of limitations, and every state has one. There are different time limits for different kinds of cases.
In Indiana, you have two years from the state of the car accident to file a lawsuit for personal injury or vehicle damage stemming from the crash. If you want to learn more about Indiana’s statute of limitations on injury lawsuits, you’ll find the full text of the law at Indiana Code section 34-11-2-4.
What if you don’t get your complaint filed before the statutory deadline passes? If that happens, it’s safe to assume that the court will refuse to hear your case at all. That’s why it’s so critical to follow the statute of limitations as it applies to your case.
Get details on other Indiana laws that could impact your car accident settlement -- and any lawsuit you decide to file -- in our article Car Accident Laws in Indiana.
Indiana Car Insurance Requirements and Rules
If you’re making a claim for injury or vehicle damage after a car accident in Indiana, car insurance coverage will almost certainly play a big role. By law, Indiana drivers are required to carry the following minimum amounts of car insurance coverage::
- $25,000 per person for death or bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident when multiple people are killed or injured
- $10,000 per accident for damage to other people’s property, and
- $50,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
For more information on car insurance requirements for drivers in Indiana, check out our companion article Indiana Car Insurance Rules.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer in Indiana
You might not need to hire a lawyer if the other driver’s insurance carrier is admitting that its insured was at fault for the accident, and you didn’t suffer significant injuries in the crash. As long as you’re comfortable handling that kind of claim yourself, it might make sense to do so.
But if the other driver’s insurer is pointing a finger squarely at you for causing the accident, or if you suffered serious injuries, things can get contentious and complicated very quickly. In that case, it might be a good idea to discuss your situation with a local car accident lawyer in Indiana. Remember that most car accident lawyers represent their clients on a contingency basis, meaning that you don’t pay unless you receive a successful settlement or court award.
A good attorney knows how to handle the back-and-forth of settlement negotiations with car insurance adjusters, and will make sure your rights are protected at every stage in the claim process, including filing a car accident lawsuit in the Indiana civil court system if that is the best move.