Mississippi Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
If you’re filing a lawsuit or seeking a settlement for injury or vehicle damage after a car accident in Mississippi, car insurance coverage is sure to play a big role.
This page provides a guide to all of the Mississippi-specific resources available on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, including discussion of the different state laws and auto insurance requirements that could affect a car accident settlement or lawsuit in the state. We’ll also provide tips on when it may be time to contact a Mississippi lawyer for help with your car accident claim.
Mississippi Car Accident Laws
If you decide to file a third party car insurance claim or lawsuit against the at-fault driver after a car accident in Mississippi, there are a few state laws you need to be aware of, starting with the time limit for getting a car accident lawsuit started in civil court (called a statute of limitations).
Mississippi’s personal injury statute of limitations gives an injured person three years after the occurrence of an injury (which means the date of the car accident) to get the lawsuit started -- a step that usually consists of filing the initial complaint and summons in civil court.
The three-year deadline is the same whether you are filing a lawsuit for injury or for vehicle damage. You can find Mississippi’s personal injury statute of limitations codified at Mississippi Code section 15-1-49.
If you don’t get your complaint filed before the three-year deadline passes, the court will refuse to hear your case altogether. Why does this deadline matter even if you think your case is going to settle? You always want to leave open the option of filing a lawsuit, not just for leverage in settlement negotiations, but also to make sure you can turn to the court system for a remedy if settlement doesn’t offer a satisfactory solution.
Get details on other Mississippi laws that could impact your car accident settlement or lawsuit in our article Car Accident Laws in Mississippi.
Mississippi Car Insurance Requirements and Rules
If you’re filing a lawsuit or seeking a settlement for injury or vehicle damage after a car accident in Mississippi, car insurance coverage is sure to play a big role. Here is a quick snapshot of some key Mississippi car insurance laws.
- Mississippi drivers are required to carry at least the following amounts of insurance on any vehicle they own and operate: $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury when more than one person is hurt, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
- Mississippi also requires any car insurance policy to include uninsured motorist coverage unless the customer specifically waives this kind of coverage in writing when the policy is purchased.
For more details on car insurance in Mississippi, check out our companion article Mississippi Car Insurance Rules.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer in Mississippi
You don’t necessarily need a lawyer for every claim you decide to make after a car accident. For example, in a situation where the other driver’s insurance carrier isn’t disputing that its insured was at fault for the crash, you suffered only minor injuries, and the settlement seems more than fair, it’s probably fine to handle that kind of claim yourself.
But what if the other driver’s insurer is saying that you caused the car accident? Or what if you suffered serious injuries and the insurer is balking at the costs of your treatment? In those situations, things can get complicated (not to mention contentious) very quickly, and it may be time to discuss your situation with a local car accident lawyer in Mississippi. Remember that most lawyers will take a car accident case on a contingency basis, meaning that the lawyer only gets paid a percentage of any successful settlement or court award.
A good attorney knows how to successfully navigate not just the back-and-forth of settlement negotiations with car insurance adjusters, but also the lawsuit process if your case proceeds to Mississippi civil court.