Nevada Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
A look at Nevada's statute of limitations for car accident lawsuits and other state laws that could affect a car accident case.
Talk to a Car Accident Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
Anyone who has been involved in a car accident in Nevada needs to understand the different state laws that could affect a settlement or lawsuit over the crash. This page provides a guide to all of the Nevada-specific resources available on All-About-Car-Accidents.com. We’ll also provide tips on when it may be time to contact a Nevada lawyer for help after a car accident.
Nevada Car Accident Laws
If you decide to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver after a car accident in Nevada -- or even if you’re only involved in an insurance claim for now -- there are a few state laws you need to know about, beginning with the time limit for getting a car accident lawsuit started in the state’s civil court system (this is a state law called a “statute of limitations”).
Nevada’s statute of limitations gives an injured person two years after the occurrence of an injury (the date of a car accident, for example) to get a lawsuit started -- a step that usually means filing the initial complaint and summons in civil court.
In Nevada, this two-year filing deadline is the same whether your lawsuit is for personal injury or for vehicle damage. You can find this law codified at Nevada Revised Statutes section 11.190.
So, what if you don’t get your lawsuit filed before Nevada’s two-year window closes? The court will almost certainly refuse to hear your case. So it’s crucial to pay attention to this deadline, and that’s true even if you think your case is going to settle out of court. You always want to leave open the option of filing a lawsuit, not just for leverage in settlement negotiations, but also to make sure you can turn to the court system for a remedy if the settlement process isn’t promising a satisfactory solution.
Get details on other Nevada laws that could impact your car accident case in our article Car Accident Laws in Nevada.
Nevada Car Insurance Requirements and Rules
Like almost every state, Nevada requires drivers to carry adequate insurance on any vehicle they own and operate in the state. The minimum coverage required for a car insurance policy in Nevada is: $25,000 for bodily injury to one person in a crash, $50,000 for bodily injury in a crash if more than one person is hurt, and $25,000 in property damage coverage.
Other car insurance coverage options -- such as collision, comprehensive, and uninsured/underinsured motorist -- aren’t required in Nevada, but they may be a good idea for most drivers.
For more details on car insurance in Nevada, check out our companion article Nevada Car Insurance Laws.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer in Nevada
You don’t necessarily need a lawyer for every claim you decide to make after a car accident. For example, in a situation where the other driver’s insurance carrier isn’t disputing that its insured was at fault for the crash, you suffered only minor injuries, and the settlement seems more than fair, it’s probably fine to handle that kind of claim yourself.
But what if the other driver’s insurer is saying that you caused the car accident? Or what if you suffered serious injuries and the insurer is balking at the costs of your treatment? In those situations, things can get complicated (not to mention contentious) very quickly, and it may be time to discuss your situation with a local car accident lawyer in Nevada. Remember that most lawyers will take a car accident case on a contingency basis, meaning that the lawyer only gets paid a percentage of any successful settlement or court award.
A good attorney knows how to successfully navigate not just the back-and-forth of settlement negotiations with car insurance adjusters, but also the car accident lawsuit process if your case proceeds to Nevada civil court.