Ohio Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
Like every other state, Ohio has passed laws that place limits on the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit after suffering harm.
Talk to a Car Accident Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
If you are a driver or passenger who has been involved in a car accident in Ohio, before you make an insurance claim for injuries or file a lawsuit, you need to understand the different state laws that could affect your case. This page provides a guide to our Ohio resources on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, including key Ohio car accident laws and car insurance rules. We’ll also provide tips on when to contact an Ohio car accident lawyer to get help if you need it.
Ohio Car Accident Laws
After a car accident in Ohio, if you decide to file a liability claim against the at-fault driver, there are a few state laws that you need to keep in mind, beginning with the time limit for getting a lawsuit started in Ohio (this kind of law is called a statute of limitations, and every state has one).
In Ohio, whether you are filing a lawsuit for personal injury or vehicle damage after a car accident, you have two years from the date of the crash to file the complaint in the state’s civil court system. If you don’t get your case filed before the deadline passes, you lose your right to have a court hear it. So it’s crucial to understand and abide by the statute of limitations.
Learn more about Ohio’s car accident lawsuit filing deadline -- and other state laws that could impact your case -- in Car Accident Laws in Ohio.
Ohio Car Insurance Requirements and Rules
After any car accident in Ohio, car insurance coverage will almost certainly play a big role, whether you decide to make a claim under your own policy or with the other driver’s carrier (the latter is known as a third party car insurance claim). Here is a brief overview of Ohio’s car insurance rules and requirements:
- Ohio is a “fault” or “tort” car insurance state, which simply means that after a car accident you are free to file an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against the other driver (you can also make a claim under your own coverage if you choose to do so).
- The minimum car insurance coverage requirements for vehicle owners in Ohio are: $25,000 for the injury or death of one person (a passenger, another driver, pedestrian, etc.), $50,000 total for injuries or death caused by any single accident, and $25,000 coverage for any property damage caused by the accident.
- Ohio does not require drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage, but it is an option when you purchase a car insurance policy from a carrier in the state.
For more details, check out Ohio Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.
Contact an Ohio Car Accident Lawyer
You may not need to hire an Ohio car accident lawyer if your case is pretty simple and you weren’t seriously injured. For example, if you’re rear-ended at low speed, the other driver’s insurance company accepts liability, and they offer you a settlement that covers your losses plus a little extra for your trouble, you can probably handle that kind of claim yourself.
But if the other driver’s insurance company is saying you were at fault for the car accident, or if you suffered significant injuries, a lot more might be at stake, and it’s a good idea to discuss your situation with a car accident lawyer.
A good car accident attorney knows how to handle the back-and-forth of settlement negotiation, how to anticipate and avoid obstacles in the process, and the best way to protect your rights at every stage of an injury claim, including filing a car accident lawsuit in the Ohio civil court system if it comes to that.