South Carolina Car Accident Settlement and Lawsuits
A summary of South Carolina laws that could come into play in your car accident lawsuit or settlement.
Drivers and passengers who have been injured in a car accident in South Carolina will want to get familiar with the various state laws and car insurance requirements that could affect any settlement or lawsuit. This page provides a summary of the South Carolina-specific resources available on All-About-Car-Accidents.com, plus links to more detailed information.
South Carolina Car Accident Laws
If you end up filing a lawsuit after a car accident in South Carolina -- even if you’re only making an insurance claim for the time being -- there are a few state laws to keep in mind, beginning with the time limit for getting a car accident lawsuit started (this kind of law is called a “statute of limitations”).
The relevant deadlines for filing a car accident lawsuit in South Carolina are:
- three years after the accident for filing a personal injury lawsuit (you can find this law at South Carolina Code section 15-3-530(5))
- three years after the accident for filing a lawsuit for property damage (i.e. damage to a vehicle) (South Carolina Code section 15-3-530(4)).
So, what if you don’t get your lawsuit filed before the three-year window closes? It’s safe to assume that the court will refuse to hear your case. So it’s critical to pay attention to the filing deadline, even if you think your case is going to settle out of court. You always want to leave open the option of filing a lawsuit, not just for leverage in settlement negotiations, but also to make sure you can turn to the court system for a remedy if the settlement process isn’t promising a satisfactory solution.
Get details on other South Carolina laws that could impact your car accident case in our article Car Accident Laws in South Carolina.
South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
Like most states, South Carolina requires drivers to carry adequate car insurance coverage on any vehicle owned and operated in the state. The following minimum coverage is mandatory:
- $25,000 for the injury or death of a single person (yourself, a passenger, another driver, pedestrian, etc.)
- $50,000 total for a single accident, and
- $25,000 for any vehicle or property damage you cause as a result of the accident.
Uninsured motorist coverage is also a requirement for any car insurance policy issued in South Carolina. Car insurance carriers are required to offer underinsured motorist coverage for any policy sold in South Carolina, but consumers are free to reject that option.
For more details on car insurance for vehicles in South Carolina, check out our companion article South Carolina Car Insurance Laws.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer in South Carolina
You may not need to hire a lawyer for every variety of car accident claim. For example, in a situation where the other driver’s insurance carrier isn’t disputing that its insured was at fault for the car accident, and you suffered only minor injuries, it’s probably fine to handle that kind of claim yourself as long as you’re comfortable with the process.
But what if the other driver’s insurer is saying that you caused the car accident? Or what if you suffered serious injuries and the insurer is balking at the extent or the costs of your medical treatment? In those situations, things can get complicated (and contentious) very quickly, and it may be time to discuss your situation with a local car accident lawyer in South Carolina. Remember that most lawyers will take a car accident case on a contingency basis, meaning that the lawyer only gets paid a percentage of any successful settlement or court award.
A good attorney knows how to successfully navigate not just the back-and-forth of settlement negotiations with car insurance adjusters, but also the car accident lawsuit process if your case proceeds to South Carolina civil court.