How much car insurance do I need in Alaska?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Alaska, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Owning a car means you own a valuable asset. It is important to understand that car insurance doesn’t protect just the car you own, but it protects you and your other assets as well. That is why selecting the right car insurance for your situation is so important, but it does require some homework.

Almost every state requires you to carry mandatory minimum levels of car insurance, and this includes Alaska. If you own a car or truck in Alaska, you are legally required to maintain liability insurance on that vehicle. The minimum requirements for insurance coverage in Alaska are shown in the table below:

Coverage Type

Alaska Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000

Uninsured Motorist

Not required

Underinsured Motorist

Grouped with Uninsured Motorist

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

Alaska, like most states, imposes criminal and administrative penalties upon you if you fail to carry the mandatory minimum car insurance coverage. If you are found guilty of violating the mandatory insurance law, your driver’s license may be suspended for ninety days for the first occurrence and up to one year for any subsequent conviction. If you cause an accident and are found to be driving without insurance, your license may be suspended for up to three years. As in most states, these laws are rigorously enforced, with the idea being that stiff penalties allow Alaska to keep financially irresponsible drivers off of the roadways. Learn more about What to Do After a Car Accident If You Don't Have Insurance.

The amounts shown in the table above are merely the legally mandated coverage minimums in Alaska. The types of coverage you select, as well as the levels of protection, will depend largely upon your personal circumstances. For example, while Alaska doesn't require you to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage (UIM), having it as part of your policy can be invaluable if you get into an accident with a driver who has no insurance, or not enough to cover your medical bills and other losses stemming from the crash.

Talk with your local insurance agent to fully understand the coverage options available to you. And get more information about car insurance requirements in Alaska in our article Alaska Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations, and in the publication Alaska Mandatory Insurance and Financial Responsibility from the state of Alaska.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLODRUPAL-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205