How much car insurance do I need in Arkansas?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Arkansas, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

In Arkansas, as in every state, when you are figuring out exactly what your specific needs might be when it comes to car insurance in case you are involved in a car accident, a good starting point is to understand what is legally required. Arkansas is one of the many states across the country where you are legally required to carry car insurance on any vehicle registered in (and in operation in) the state. Specifically, Arkansas requires the following minimum levels of insurance:

Coverage Type

Arkansas Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 per person/$50,000 total per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000

Uninsured Motorist

Not required

Underinsured Motorist

Not required

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

These minimum insurance requirements do not constitute specific recommendations for types of insurance coverage or levels of coverage. For example, just because Arkansas does not require you to carry collision coverage, it might be a good addition to your policy if you're you've got an expensive car and you're worried about how to pay for damage to it in case you cause an accident. (Learn more about Different Types of Car Insurance Coverage.)

Your insurance agent will be able to explain your options and help you come up with a car insurance policy that is best tailored to your needs. For more details on the car insurance rules in Arkansas, check out our article Arkansas Auto Insurance Laws And Regulations. You might also want to visit the official website of the Arkansas Insurance Department.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Arkansas

As most states do, Arkansas imposes stiff penalties if you drive without adequate insurance. Typically, the penalties in Arkansas look like this:

First offense: a fine up to $250

Second offense: a fine up to $500;

Subsequent offenses: a fine up to $1,000 and a jail term of up to one year. Your driver’s license may also be suspended for one year.

In addition to these fines, the state will impose administrative penalties that include impoundment of the vehicle. What's more, if you cause a car accident in Arkansas and are found to be without the mandatory insurance coverage, the penalties also include an automatic misdemeanor criminal conviction.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLO-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205