How much car insurance do I need in Colorado?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Colorado, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Colorado, like almost every state in the country, requires you to have car insurance coverage on any vehicle that you want to register and operate in the state. Also like most states, Colorado sets minimum required insurance coverage amounts. The amounts and types of car insurance coverage required by the State of Colorado are shown in the table below:

Coverage Type

Colorado Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability

$15,000

Uninsured Motorist

Not required

Underinsured Motorist

Grouped with Uninsured Motorist

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

Determining the right car insurance coverage can be a complicated process. And sticking to the minimum coverage requirements detailed above isn't always the best strategy. For example, while Colorado doesn't require you to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, adding this optional coverage to your policy can be a financial lifesaver if you're in an accident with an at-fault driver who isn't carrying any car insurance whatsoever, or whose coverage isn't enough to pay your medical bills and other losses stemming from the accident. Learn more in the State of Colorado’s publication, Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Colorado.

Consulting with your local insurance agent is a good first step in figuring out your insurance needs and coming up with a policy that is right for you. You might also want to read our article Colorado Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations and check out the official website of the State of Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Insurance.

Penalties for driving without car insurance in Colorado

If you are a Colorado resident and you are caught driving without the mandatory car insurance minimums, you could face a number of penalties:

  • First offense: A minimum fine of $500
  • Second offense: A minimum fine of $1,000 and a suspension of your license for four months;
  • Third offense: A minimum fine of $1,000 and a suspension of your license for eight months.

In addition to the penalties shown above, the court may impose a requirement of 40 hours of community service. The state will also impose administrative penalties, such as points against your driver’s license.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLODRUPAL-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205