How much car insurance do I need in Connecticut?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Connecticut, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

If you live in Connecticut and you own a motor vehicle that you plan to register and operate in the state, you are legally required to carry car insurance. The state-required minimum coverages are shown in the table below:

Coverage Type

Connecticut Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000

Uninsured Motorist

$20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Grouped with Uninsured Motorist

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

Keep in mind that these are only the minimum coverage amounts required by law in Connecticut. It might be wise to carry coverage that goes above and beyond these limits. For example, even though Connecticut doesn't require comprehensive coverage, if you finance or lease a vehicle, you may be required to add this kind of protection to your policy. Your car insurance agent can tell you everything you need to know about the different types of car insurance coverage, and can help you tailor a policy that's right for you.

You'll find more details in our article Connecticut Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations. You can also get helpful information on the official websites for the Connecticut Insurance Department and the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.

Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Connecticut

Driving without car insurance can result in fines and increasingly severe legal consequences in Connecticut. If you are cited for such a violation you could be fined and also have the registration on your vehicle suspended. In effect, this means that it will be illegal to take your car or truck on the road during any period of the suspension.

In Connecticut, if your insurance coverage lapses, the Connecticut Department of Insurance will issue a Notice of Suspension. If you do not timely respond to the Notice, your vehicle registration will be automatically suspended. To reinstate your registration, you will be forced to pay a fine of $200. And that won't be all you'll need to worry about if you get into a car accident when your car insurance coverage has lapsed. Learn more: What to Do After a Car Accident if You Don't Have Insurance.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLO-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205