How much car insurance do I need in Delaware?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Delaware, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Each state has different requirements when it comes to car insurance, and Delaware is no different. In the table below, you'll find the minimum insurance coverage that is legally mandated for any motor vehicle registered and in operation in Delaware:

Coverage Type

Delaware Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$15,000 per person/$30,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000

Uninsured Motorist

Not required

Underinsured Motorist

Grouped with Uninsured Motorist

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

The coverage types and amounts listed above are simply the bare minimum that is required by law in Delaware. In many instances you can and should explore different coverage options. For example, Delaware does not require vehicle owners to carry comprehensive coverage, but if you are financing or leasing a vehicle, you may be under an obligation to add that coverage option to your policy. Learn more about  different types of car insurance coverage.

Your local insurance agent can explain all of the coverage options that are available to you, and can help you tailor the right car insurance policy for your situation.

You can learn more about Delaware's car insurance requirements in our article  Delaware Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations. may also want to check out the  State of Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles website.

Penalties for driving without car insurance in Delaware

If you are caught driving in Delaware without the required minimum amounts of car insurance, the penalties can be quite serious. In fact, the monetary penalties in Delaware are among the most severe in the country. Typical penalties are:

For a first offense: a fine of not less than $1,500 and a suspension of your driver’s license for at least six months.

For a second offense: a fine of not less than $3,000 and a suspension of your driver’s license for at least six months. This penalty also applies for each subsequent offense.

If you get into a car accident while you've let your car insurance lapse, the fines detailed above could be the least of your financial problems. If the accident is your fault, you could be personally liable for injuries, vehicle damage, and other losses suffered by the other drivers and passengers. For more information, see  What To Do After A Car Accident If You Don't Have Insurance.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find personal injury lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR CLAIM

Get the compensation you deserve.

We've helped 215 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you