How much car insurance do I need in Florida?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Florida, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Determining the appropriate level of car insurance to purchase in Florida can be a difficult task. One of the first steps is understanding the minimum coverage requirements in the state. The table below shows the minimum requirements mandated by law in Florida.

Coverage Type

Florida Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$10,000 per person/$20,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability

$10,000

Uninsured Motorist

Not required

Underinsured Motorist

Grouped with Uninsured Motorist coverage

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$10,000 for emergency medical condition

$2,500 for non-emergency medical condition

Florida, like most states, imposes serious penalties if you are caught driving without insurance. Drivers in Florida may have their licenses suspended for a period of up to three years. Additionally, if you cause an accident and other people are injured, you will be forced to pay those damages out of your own pocket because you don’t have insurance.

Because Florida is a “no-fault” insurance state, the insurance company for the injured driver or passenger will likely sue you for reimbursement of the damages it paid to its insured because of the accident you caused. Depending on the amount, it could take several years to pay off those damages. Typically, the State of Florida suspends your license during that entire time period until the damages are paid off in full. To get your license reinstated, you usually must show proof of insurance on every vehicle owned in the state of Florida, and you typically need to pay a fine of up to $500 per violation.

The information provided here is not a specific recommendation that you obtain a particular type of car insurance. Rather, the purpose is simply to provide a representation to you of what the State of Florida has established as minimum requirements. Your insurance agent can explain to you the differences between the various types of car insurance. Before visiting your agent, you might want to read the information available in our section titled Types of Car Insurance Coverage. It can help you formulate the appropriate questions to present to your agent.

For more information on how automobile insurance works in Florida, take a look at our article The Basics of Car Insurance in Florida. The State of Florida’s official government website, Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, also has additional materials available addressing car insurance that will guide you through the process.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLO-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205