How much car insurance do I need in Idaho?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Idaho, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Idaho requires owners of vehicles to carry certain amounts of insurance coverage for any car or truck registered and in operation in the state. The purpose of this coverage is to provide a source of funding for medical bills, lost income, and property damage in the event that the vehicle is involved in an accident. Here are the minimum amounts of liability coverage you must carry in Idaho:
- $25,000 per person for injury or death resulting from an accident
- $50,000 total for all injuries or death caused by a single accident
- $15,000 for property damage stemming from the accident
These are only minimum coverage amounts. You can, of course, carry additional coverage; and it is strongly recommended, if you can. Suppose you are at fault for an accident that results in significant damage. You could exhaust minimum policy limits quickly; and if you do, you could very well be responsible for the difference. Here is some additional information about the different types of car insurance coverage.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage
UIM coverage can be invaluable if you are in an accident with an at-fault driver who is uninsured or does not have enough insurance to cover your losses. In Idaho, all car insurance policies must include UIM coverage, unless the policy holder expressly waives UIM coverage in writing. For additional information on UIM coverage, check out Uninsured Motorist Coverage: The Basics and Underinsured Motorist Coverage: How It Works.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Idaho?
If you are caught driving without proof of financial responsibility in Idaho, you will be subject to a fine, and you will have to provide proof of financial responsibility for the next year following the offense. If you are cited for the same offense within the next five years, it may rise to the level of a misdemeanor, which could be penalized by a much steeper fine or even jail time (up to six months).
Getting more information on car insurance in Idaho
Idaho's laws regarding Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility are available on the Idaho Legislature's website. You'll also find helpful information in our article Idaho Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations.