How much car insurance do I need in Illinois?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Illinois, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In Illinois, vehicle owners must carry certain minimum car insurance amounts for any car or truck they want to register and operate in the state. These are the minimum coverage limits required under Illinois law:
- Liability for injury/Death per person in an accident -- $20,000
- Total liability for a single accident -- $40,000
- Property damage -- $15,000
The minimum coverages listed above are just that -- the minimum you need to carry on your vehicle. There are advantages to carrying additional coverage, if you can. If you cause a car accident, and the injured persons' damages are higher than the limits of your insurance coverage, you will be personally on the hook for the difference. In a major accident, that amount could reach six figures and can quickly become a crippling financial burden.
What's more, while Illinois does not require vehicle owners to carry comprehensive coverage, if you're financing or leasing a vehicle, you're probably required to add that extra coverage to your car insurance policy, under the terms of your purchase or lease agreement.
Learn more about different types of car insurance coverage.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage
Illinois is one of a handful of states that requires UIM coverage. UIM coverage can be very valuable because it protects you if you are in an accident with an at-fault driver who does not have any car insurance at all, or not enough to cover your losses. In most cases, your UIM coverage will kick in to fill the financial gap.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Illinois?
If you are caught driving without proper insurance coverage in Illinois, you will likely have to pay a minimum fine of $500. In addition, your license plates may be suspended. If, after your plates have been suspended, you are caught driving with suspended plates, you will be subject to a minimum fine of $1,000.
Get more information on car insurance in Illinois
The Illinois Department of Insurance has provided a great deal of useful information about auto insurance for Illinois drivers. Our article Illinois Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations is also a helpful resource.