How much car insurance do I need in Kansas?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Kansas, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Kansas requires more than most states when it comes to mandatory car insurance coverage minimums. In Kansas, drivers are required to carry the following insurance coverage: (1) Liability, (2) Personal Injury Protection, and (3) Uninsured/Underinsured (UIM). For Liability coverage, Kansas requires the following minimum coverage amounts:
- Bodily Injury / Death per person – $25,000
- Bodily Injury / Death total – $50,000
- Property Damage – $10,000
Bear in mind, this is the minimum coverage required in Kansas. If you can carry more, it's probably wise to do so, depending on your situation. (More on different types of car insurance coverage.)
Kansas is a "No Fault" Car Insurance State
Kansas is one of a dozen or so "no fault" states. That means, up to a certain point, your own insurance coverage will pay for your medical bills after a car accident, regardless of who as at fault. Get more state-specific details on No-Fault Car Insurance in Kansas.
What happens if losses from an accident exceed policy limits?
UIM coverage is a safety net if you are in a car accident and the other driver has no (or insufficient) coverage to pay for your damages. Of course, your UIM coverage will not kick in until you have reached the no-fault threshold in place in Kansas. Here is some additional information about uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Kansas?
Kansas has steep penalties and fines for driving without liability insurance. You will have to pay at least $300 for a first offense and upwards of $2,500 for a repeat offense.
Not everyone carries proper insurance coverage. For some, it is a matter of cost. For others, they simply forget; and their coverage lapses. If you are in a car accident without liability insurance, the consequence will largely depend on which driver was at fault for the accident. Learn more about what to do after a car accident when you don’t have insurance.