How much car insurance do I need in Kentucky?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Kentucky, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Kentucky law requires certain minimum amounts of insurance coverage for vehicles registered and in operation in the state, and there are fines and penalties for drivers who do not maintain adequate coverage. Here are Kentucky’s minimum coverage requirements when it comes to liability for an accident:
- Bodily injury/death per person – $25,000
- Bodily injury/death total per accident (regardless of how many people are involved) – $50,000
- Property or vehicle damage – $10,000
These figures represent the minimum required by Kentucky law, but it is wise to carry extra coverage if you can. (Get more information on types of car insurance coverage.)
Kentucky is a "no-fault" car insurance state
Kentucky is one of a dozen or so "no fault" states. No fault insurance is designed in part to facilitate the claims process and reduce the legal costs often associated with car accidents. Essentially, each driver’s "personal injury protection" coverage will pay for his or her own medical expenses and lost income, up to a certain threshold, regardless of who caused the accident. Kentucky requires each car insurance policy to include $10,000 in PIP coverage. You can only file a liability claim or lawsuit against another driver in limited situations. Get the details on Kentucky No-Fault Car Insurance Rules.
What happens if losses from an accident exceed policy limits?
You are not required to carry Underinsured Motorist (UIM) insurance in Kentucky, but this coverage can potentially save you a lot of headaches. It is a safety net if you are in a car accident and the other driver is (1) at fault and (2) has no, or insufficient, coverage to pay for your damages. Learn more about uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Kentucky?
If you allow your insurance to lapse in Kentucky, the DMV will send you a notice instructing you to present proof of insurance coverage to your local county clerk. Your registration will be cancelled if you ignore the letter. And if you drive the vehicle (or if someone else drives it) while it is not insured, you and the driver will be subject to fines and other penalties.