How much car insurance do I need in Louisiana?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Louisiana, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Louisiana requires liability automobile insurance for vehicles in operation in the state, and there are fines and penalties for drivers who don't carry adequate coverage. Here are Louisiana’s minimum coverage requirements for liability insurance for drivers:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to (or death of) a single person in an accident
- $30,000 total for injuries to (or death of) multiple people in an accident, and
- $25,000 for property damage arising out of an accident.
These are the minimum amounts required under Louisiana law, but it is usually a good idea to carry additional coverage if possible. Get more details on Louisiana Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations.
What happens if losses from an accident exceed policy limits?
Louisiana does not require Underinsured Motorist (UIM) insurance coverage, but it is a good idea to carry it, since it can be very valuable. It acts as a safety net if you are in a car accident and the other driver is (1) at fault and (2) has no, or insufficient, coverage to pay for your damages. Your UIM coverage fills the gap in most instances. More: Uninsured and Uninsured Motorist Coverage.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Louisiana?
Louisiana has a “no pay, no play” law. This means people who do not have automobile insurance coverage are limited in the insurance claims they can make following an accident, regardless of who was at fault. Specifically, you cannot collect the initial $25,000 of a property damage claim, or the initial $15,000 of a bodily injury claim, if you do not have automobile insurance. It's important to note that these limitations won't apply if the other driver was drunk at the time of the accident, intentionally caused the crash, or committed a hit-and-run.
What if you are in a car accident, and you do not have insurance?
For a variety of reasons, some people do not to carry liability coverage, or their coverage lapses. If you are in a car accident without liability insurance, the consequence will largely depend on which driver is at fault. Learn more about what to do after a car accident when you don’t have insurance.