How much car insurance do I need in Maine?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Maine, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Maine requires more than most states when it comes to minimum automobile insurance coverage requirements. Maine requires drivers to carry automobile insurance for liability, uninsured motorist (UIM) coverage, and medical payments coverage. Here is a summary of Maine’s minimum coverage requirements for liability insurance:
- Bodily Injury / Death per person – $50,000
- Bodily Injury / Death total – $100,000
- Property Damage – $25,000
These minimums are what the law in Maine requires, but it is usually wise to carry additional coverage if you are able to. (Get in-depth information on types of car insurance coverage.)
What happens if losses from an accident exceed policy limits?
As mentioned above, Maine is one of a handful of states that require drivers to carry UIM insurance coverage. This coverage can provide crucial additional financial protection if you are in a car accident and the other driver (1) is at fault and (2) has no, or insufficient, coverage to pay for your damages. Your UIM coverage covers the gap in most situations, although it depends on how much coverage you have. Learn more about Uninsured and Uninsured Motorist Coverage.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Maine?
As you might have guessed by Maine’s high minimum coverage requirements, the penalties for driving in Maine without automobile insurance are pretty steep. In addition to steep fines, the State may also suspend your license and registration. What’s more, the State will not lift the suspension until you show proof that you have purchased proper insurance. And, even after you get your license back, it may be restricted for a time.
What if you are in a car accident, and you do not have insurance?
Occasionally, people choose not to carry liability coverage, or their coverage lapses. The consequences of getting into a car accident without liability insurance will largely depend on which driver was at fault. Here is some advice on what to do after a car accident when you don’t have insurance.