How much car insurance do I need in Maryland?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Maryland, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Maryland requires you to purchase and maintain different  types of car insurance coverage  on any registered vehicle. One of the purposes of this law is to protect other drivers and passengers on the road in the event that you end up causing an accident. The minimum car insurance coverage requirements for vehicles registered in Maryland are:

Coverage Type

Maryland Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$30,000 per person/$60,000 total per accident

Property Damage Liability

$15,000 per accident

Uninsured Motorist

Bodily Injury: $30,000 per person/total $60,000 per accident

Property Damage: $15,000 per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Grouped with Uninsured Motorist

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$2,500 limit

The coverage amounts shown above are merely the legally-required minimums. In some situations -- as when you are financing or leasing a vehicle, for example -- you may need to add additional types of protections to your policy, such as comprehensive coverage.

Learn more about car insurance rules in Maryland in our article  Maryland Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations.

What are the penalties for driving without insurance in Maryland?

Maryland, like most states, imposes fines if you fail to carry the mandatory car insurance on a vehicle in operation in the state. For the first 30 days without insurance, the fine is $150. For each day beyond that, the fine is $7 per day. So, the fines can easily reach as high as $2,500 during any given year.

Maryland also imposes jail time for failing to carry the required car insurance. The jail sentence can be for a period of up to one year. According to the  Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, the following administrative penalties could be imposed in addition to any criminal penalties handed down by a court:

1) loss of license plates and vehicle registration privileges

2) payment of a restoration fee of up to $25 for a vehicle's registration

3) inability to register any future vehicles or renew a suspended registration until all insurance violations are cleared, and

4) confiscation of license plates by an authorized tag recovery agent, once a registration suspension is in effect.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Start here to find personal injury lawyers near you.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
MAKE THE MOST OF YOUR CLAIM

Get the compensation you deserve.

We've helped 215 clients find attorneys today.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you