Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Massachusetts, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

How much car insurance do I need in Massachusetts?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Massachusetts, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Massachusetts requires you to maintain certain minimum levels of car insurance coverage for any vehicle that you register and intend to operate in the state. These minimum coverage requirements are:

Coverage Type

Massachusetts Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$20,000 per person/$40,000 total per accident

Property Damage Liability

$5,000 per accident

Uninsured Motorist

$20,000 per person/$40,000 total per accident

Underinsured Motorist

Not required

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

$8,000 limit

The "Personal Injury Protection" coverage listed above factors in because Massachusetts is a no-fault car insurance state. That means you file a claim under the PIP coverage in your own car insurance policy after most accidents, regardless of who was at fault for the crash. You can learn more about how the Massachusetts no-fault system works in our article Massachusetts Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.

The minimums listed in the chart above are simply what the law requires in Massachusetts. In some situations, you may want (or need) to add additional coverage options to your policy. For example, if you are leasing or financing a car, you may be required to carry comprehensive coverage, even though Massachusetts doesn't require drivers to carry comprehensive coverage by law. Your insurance agent can help you tailor a car insurance policy that is right for your situation.

Penalties for driving without car insurance in Massachusetts

Driving without insurance in Massachusetts can carry severe penalties. The state has a rather unique formula for determining a fine for violators.

Once convicted, you can be fined either $500 or an amount equal to an annual car insurance premium at the highest market rate as of the day you commit the offense (not to exceed $5,000). Depending on your driving history, this amount could easily run into the thousands of dollars. From there, potential penalties get even more severe. For subsequent offenses, Massachusetts will send you to jail for a period of up to one year and suspend your license for one year, in addition to the imposition of fines.

For more information, check out Understanding Massachusetts Auto Insurance, from the Massachusetts Attorney General.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLO-web1:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205