How much car insurance do I need in Mississippi?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Mississippi, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Most states have mandatory car insurance laws that apply to drivers and their vehicles, and Mississippi is no different. All vehicle owners in Mississippi are required to carry certain minimum amounts of car insurance coverage on any vehicle that is registered and in operation in the state -- and drivers are required to carry proof of that insurance. The state’s minimum car insurance requirements are:

Coverage Type

Mississippi Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability

$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident

Property Damage Liability

$25,000

Uninsured Motorist

Not required

Underinsured Motorist

Grouped with Uninsured Motorist

Medical Payments

Not required

Collision

Not required

Comprehensive

Not required

You can learn more about car insurance rules in the state in our article Mississippi Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations.

Remember that the amounts listed above are only the minimum car insurance coverage requirements under Mississippi law. You may want to purchase additional coverage, and you may actually need to add more protection in certain circumstances. For example, while Mississippi does not require you to purchase comprehensive coverage, you may need to add it to your policy under the terms of any vehicle financing or lease agreement you enter into.

If you have questions about the best car insurance policy for your situation, hopefully your insurance agent has the answers. You might also want to check out our article What Car Insurance Coverage Is Right For You? and Mississippi Automobile Insurance Consumer's Guide, published by the Mississippi Insurance Department.

What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Mississippi?

If you are caught driving in Mississippi without the required car insurance on a registered vehicle, there are several penalties you may face:

  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • A suspension of your driver’s license for up to one (1) year
  • A suspension of your vehicle registration for up to one (1) year

For each subsequent occurrence, you can count on the fines and penalties increasing.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLO-web4:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205