How much car insurance do I need in Missouri?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Missouri, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Missouri requires certain minimum levels of car insurance coverage on any motor vehicle registered in the state. Those minimums are:
- $25,000 per person to cover bodily injuries or death caused by an accident
- $50,000 total per accident, to cover bodily injuries or death, when more than one person is hurt
- $10,000 to cover property damage
These are just the minimum limits required in Missouri. It is usually wise to carry more than the coverage minimums. If you cause an accident and the other driver's medical bills, lost income, and other damages exceed your policy limits, you could find yourself on the financial hook for the difference.
What's more, while Missouri does not require vehicle owners to carry comprehensive coverage, if you finance or lease a vehicle, you're probably legally obligated to include comprehensive coverage as part of your policy.
Learn more about Different Types of Car Insurance Coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage in Missouri
Pursuant to Missouri Revised Statutes, Section 379-203, you must carry uninsured motorist coverage as part of your car insurance policy. As the name implies, this coverage is designed to protect you if you're in an accident with an at-fault driver who does not have insurance, or does not have enough coverage to pay for your losses. Learn more about Uninsured Motorist Coverage and Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
What is the Penalty for Driving Without Insurance in Missouri?
If you are caught driving without insurance in Missouri, your driver's licence and/or vehicle license plates may be suspended. The following suspension periods and reinstatement fees will apply:
- 1st suspension: 0 days, $20 reinstatement fee
- 2nd suspension: 90 days, $200 reinstatement fee
- 3rd and subsequent suspension: 1 year, $400 reinstatement fee