How much car insurance do I need in Nebraska?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Nebraska, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In Nebraska, drivers are required to show proof of "financial responsibility" before they are permitted to register their vehicles. Typically, this is done by purchasing a car insurance policy, although there are other ways of meeting the requirement (we'll cover those below).
In Nebraska, you're required to establish "financial responsibility" for the following minimum amounts of loss in case of a car accident:
- Bodily injury or death of one person caused by a car accident -- $25,000
- Total per accident for bodily injury or death of more than one person -- $50,000
- Property damage (including damage to vehicles) resulting from an accident -- $25,000
Uninsured and underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage in Nebraska
In Nebraska, unless you expressly decline UIM coverage in writing, you are required to include it in your car insurance policy. UIM coverage provides a lot of value. It is designed to protect you if you are in an accident with an at-fault driver who has insufficient coverage -- or no coverage at all. To learn more about UIM coverage, read these articles onUninsured Motorist Coverage and Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Nebraska?
If you are caught driving without insurance in Nebraska, your driver's license will be immediately suspended. To get it back, you have to file proof of financial responsibility and pay a $50 reinstatement fee. The Nebraska DMV has more information about consequences of not having proper car insurance in Nebraska.
Other options to prove "financial responsibility"
Rather than purchase insurance, a driver may also submit a surety bond the Nebraska DMV. The bond must at least cover the driver for the same minimum amounts that are required for liability insurance (which we laid out in the first section above).
For additional information on Nebraska's financial responsibility rules for vehicle owners, check out our article Nebraska Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations.