How much car insurance do I need in Nevada?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Nevada, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Nevada law requires vehicle owners to carry car insurance on any car or truck registered and operating in the state, at the following minimum coverage levels:
- $15,000 for one person's injuries or death caused by a car accident
- $30,000 total per car accident, for multiple persons' injuries or death
- $10,000 total property damage coverage per accident
Understanding the minimum amount of coverage required by law in Nevada is a good starting point when you're trying to decide on a car insurance policy that is right for you. But these minimums may not be enough for your situation. For example, Nevada does not require vehicle owners to purchase comprehensive coverage, but if you're leasing or financing a vehicle, the contract you signed may require you to add comprehensive coverage to your policy. Learn more about Different Types of Car Insurance Coverage.
Car Insurance and Registration Requirements in Nevada
Before you can register your vehicle in Nevada, an insurance carrier authorized to do business in the state must validate your coverage. You must present your proof of insurance when you first register your vehicle; however, you must also present it for renewals, reinstatements, and when you change your license plate.
Important note: You only have to report your liability coverage to the Nevada DMV. Other types of coverage, such as collision or comprehensive, need not be reported. The Nevada DMV website has additional information about insurance and registration requirements.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage Not Required in Nevada
Nevada law does not require its drivers to carry UIM coverage, but as the name implies, this kind of coverage can offer great protection if you are in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver. To find out more, check out these articles on Uninsured Motorist Coverage and Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Nevada?
If you are caught driving without car insurance in Nevada, you may have your driver's license or registration suspended. In addition, you may be charged a $250 fine.
For more details on car insurance rules in Nevada, check out Nevada Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.