How much car insurance do I need in New Hampshire?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in New Hampshire, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
New Hampshire does not require vehicle owners to purchase a car insurance policy. However, anyone who wants to register and operate a vehicle in the state must prove they are "financially responsible" in the event that they cause a car accident. Financial responsibility must be demonstrated for at least the following minimum amounts of potential loss:
- $25,000 for one person's injuries in an accident
- $50,000 total per accident for multiple persons' injuries
- $25,000 property damage per accident, and
- $1,000 for medical payments, or "med pay" for short
Bear in mind, property damage coverage is designed to cover damage caused to someone else's property (i.e. their vehicle) -- not your own. To cover damage to your vehicle, you will need to add additional coverage, such as collision or comprehensive. Learn more about the different types of car insurance coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage in New Hampshire
For drivers who establish their "financial responsibility" by carrying car insurance, New Hampshire law requires that UIM coverage be part of the insurance package. UIM coverage is designed to protect you in the event your are in a car accident with an at-fault uninsured or underinsured motorist. If you have sufficient UIM coverage, it should kick in to pay the difference between your losses (medical bills, lost income) and the at-fault driver's insurance limits.
Learn more about Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
"Financial Responsibility" and the SR-22 in New Hampshire
Some New Hampshire drivers may need to file an SR-22 with the state's Division of Motor Vehicles, if they are required to show proof of insurance. Technically, an insurance company that is licensed to do business in New Hampshire must file the SR-22. Learn more on the official website of the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles.
Additional Information on New Hampshire Car Insurance Rules
The New Hampshire Insurance Department has published a helpful article, titled Your Guide to Understanding Auto Insurance in the Granite State. It offers a thorough overview of the state's insurance requirements, as well as some helpful tips to assist you with the claims process following an accident. You can also check out our article on New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.