How much car insurance do I need in New Mexico?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in New Mexico, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In New Mexico, drivers must carry car insurance on every vehicle they own and operate in the state. The minimum limits of coverage are:
- $25,000 per person for injury or death resulting from a car accident
- $50,000 total per accident for all injuries or deaths resulting from the crash
- $10,000 for property damage, per accident (this covers damage to the other driver's car, but not damage to your own vehicle)
Remember that these are simply the minimum amounts of coverage required by law in New Mexico. In some situations it's a good idea to carry additional protection. One reason is that if you are at fault for a car accident, and other drivers and passengers are injured, their damages (medical bills, lost income, and other losses) could exceed your policy limits. If that happens, you could end up personally on the financial hook for the difference.
In some situations, you may be legally required to carry additional car insurance coverage. For example, even though New Mexico law does not mandate that drivers carry comprehensive or collision coverage, if you are leasing or financing a vehicle, the terms of your contract may require you to add these additional protections to your policy. That's so that damage to the vehicle is covered regardless of who or what caused it.
What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in New Mexico?
When you register your vehicle, you have to show proof of insurance. If the state finds out you have a vehicle that is registered, but uninsured, it will first send you a notice informing you to remedy the situation. After that, if you are caught driving without proof of insurance, you will be subject to a $100 fine.
Get more information on car insurance in New Mexico
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division website has useful information on car insurance rules and requirements in the state. You can also check out our article New Mexico Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations.