How much car insurance do I need in North Dakota?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in North Dakota, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
North Dakota requires vehicle owners to carry the following minimum amounts of car insurance coverage:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 total per accident. Note: Underinsured coverage must at least match uninsured coverage
- No-fault/PIP coverage: $30,000
Although it costs more to carry additional coverage, it can be well worth it. If you are at fault for an accident where the damages exceed your coverage limits, you will be on the financial hook for the difference.
North Dakota is a "no-fault" car insurance state
Under a no-fault system, each driver’s insurance coverage pays for their own bodily injuries until a certain threshold is met -- no matter which driver was at fault
Drivers in North Dakota may bring a liability claim or file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver if:
- the total necessary medical expenses exceed $2,500; or
- the claimant suffered "serious and permanent disfigurement or disability" lasting more than 60 days.
If you are only seeking property damage from an at-fault driver, North Dakota's no-fault rules do not apply. You're free to make a claim against the at-fault driver for payment of your car repair bills.
Learn more about North Dakota's no-fault car insurance rules in our article North Dakota Auto Insurance Rules.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in North Dakota?
If you are pulled over in North Dakota and you don't have proof of car insurance, you will be issued a citation and ordered to pay a $150 fine, which will be dismissed if you keep your traffic court date and demonstrate proof of insurance.
If you are found to be driving uninsured (as opposed to merely driving without proof of insurance) and you are in an accident, you will likely have your driver's license suspended and have up to 14 points added against your driving record. If you're pulled over and found to be driving uninsured, a first offense will get you a $150 fine and 6 points against your record; a second offense within 18 months will get you a $300 fine and 12 points.