How much car insurance do I need in Ohio?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Ohio, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
Ohio law requires motor vehicle owners to carry the following minimum levels of liability insurance on any vehicle registered and in operation in the state:
- $12,500 per person to cover injury or death caused by the accident
- $25,000 total per accident to cover injury or death of multiple persons stemming from the accident
- $7,000 to cover property damage (i.e. damage to other vehicles) caused by the accident
When deciding on coverage levels, remember that if you cause a car accident, and injured drivers and passengers have medical bills and other losses that exceed the amount of your insurance coverage, you will likely be personally on the hook for the difference. And if you are financing or leasing a vehicle, you may be contractually obligated to add certain kinds of coverage that Ohio law does not require (such as comprehensive coverage). Learn more about the different types of car insurance coverage.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage is not required in Ohio
But that doesn't mean it isn't a good idea to carry UIM coverage. It provides peace of mind and financial relief if you are in an accident with an at-fault driver who has insufficient coverage -- or no coverage at all. To learn more about how these coverage options work, read our articles Uninsured Motorist Coverage and Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Ohio?
If you are caught driving without car insurance in Ohio, you can lose your driving privileges for anywhere between 90 days, and two years. The state may also suspend your driver's license or registration.