How much car insurance do I need in Oklahoma?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Oklahoma, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In Oklahoma, required liability coverage for automobiles registered in the state is dictated by 47 Okla. Stat. section 7-204. The following are the minimum coverage requirements for liability insurance:
- Bodily Injury / Death per person: $25,000
- Bodily Injury / Death total: $50,000
- Property Damage: $25,000
Although these are the minimum amounts required by law, it is usually a good idea to carry additional coverage whenever possible. You can find more details on Oklahoma car insurance in our article Oklahoma Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations. For the basics on car insurance coverage, check out all the articles in our Types of Car Insurance Coverage topic.
What happens if losses from an accident exceed policy limits?
Although it is not required for Oklahoma drivers to maintain Underinsured Motorist (UIM) coverage, all insurance carriers offer it in Oklahoma. This coverage is designed to be an additional protection if you are in a car accident, and the other driver is (1) at fault and (2) has no, or insufficient, coverage to pay for your damages. Your UIM coverage makes up the difference in most situations. To learn more, visit our Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coveragepage.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Oklahoma?
In addition to the authority to issue a ticket, Oklahoma has a new law that gives law enforcement officers the power to seize license plates from uninsured drivers. The police will confiscate the license plate and issue a sticker that provides 10 days of temporary coverage. During that 10-day period, the uninsured driver must buy insurance, or they will be subject to a hefty fine.
What if you are in a car accident, and you do not have insurance?
Even though car insurance is required in Oklahoma, people occasionally choose not to carry liability coverage, or their coverage lapses. Oklahoma follows a traditional fault-based system when it comes to who is on the financial hook for a car accident. If you cause an accident, you're going to be liable for any resulting injuries and property damage. So, the consequences of getting into a car accident without liability insurance will largely depend on which driver was at fault. Learn more: What to do after a car accident when you don’t have insurance.