How much car insurance do I need in Oregon?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Oregon, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In Oregon, motor vehicle owners must carry certain minimum levels of car insurance in order to legally register and operate their car or truck in the state. The minimum coverage required in Oregon is:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, or death, per person
- $50,000 total for bodily injury, or death, per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
- $15,000 for personal injury protection (PIP)
- Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person, and $50,000 total per accident for bodily injury.
Bear in mind, these are only the minimum coverage amounts required under Oregon law. In some situations, it may be wise to carry additional coverage. And if you are leasing or financing a vehicle in Oregon, you may be contractually obligated to add additional kinds of coverage options to your policy (such as collision or comprehensive coverage) so that the vehicle is covered no matter who or what causes damage to it.
What is the Penalty for Driving Without Car Insurance in Oregon?
If you get caught driving without insurance in Oregon, you could be fined, lose your driving privileges, or have your vehicle towed, depending on the circumstances of the offense.
If you are convicted of driving without insurance, you will have to file proof of insurance with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for three years. If you are in an accident, and you are uninsured, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. That's above and beyond the financial consequences of getting into an accident without car insurance, which can be especially devastating if the accident is your fault.