How much car insurance do I need in Pennsylvania?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Pennsylvania, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In Pennsylvania, the law requires vehicle owners to carry certain minimum amounts of car insurance coverage on any car or truck registered and in operation in the state. The minimum required amounts of coverage are:
- $15,000 per person for personal injury protection (PIP)
- $30,000 total per accident, for PIP
- $5,000 per accident for property damage, and
- $5,000 in no-fault PIP coverage.
There are also all-purpose insurance policies with total coverage of $35,000. If you carry one of these policies, you will be considered in compliance with the law.
Keep in mind that in some situations, it may be a good idea to carry more coverage than the law requires in Pennsylvania. And in some cases -- such as when you are leasing or financing a car -- you may be contractually obligated to add options like comprehensive or collision coverage to your car insurance policy.
What are the penalties for driving without car insurance in Pennsylvania?
If your car or truck is not insured, you could face the following penalties, according to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation:
- a minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured
- a three-month suspension of your vehicle registration
- a three-month suspension of your driver's license
- a $50 restoration fee to restore your vehicle registration, and
- a $50 restoration fee to restore your driver's license.
Pennsylvania is a "choice no-fault" car insurance state
Pennsylvania follows a "no-fault" system. That means drivers who are injured in a car accident must first turn to their own auto insurance coverage for payment of medical expenses and lost income, up to a certain amount. You can only step outside of the no-fault system and file a claim or lawsuit against the at-fault driver if the accident resulted in "serious injury." According to Pennsylvania courts, this means serious impairment of a body function or permanent and serious disfigurement.
Drivers in Pennsylvania may choose between no-fault and traditional car insurance when they buy their insurance. Under traditional rules, drivers may file a claim against (or sue) an at-fault driver after an accident, regardless of the seriousness of the resulting injuries. Learn more about Pennsylvania's No-Fault Car Insurance System.