How much car insurance do I need in Rhode Island?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Rhode Island, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

In Rhode Island, in order to drive legally, drivers must maintain minimum levels of car insurance coverage for each vehicle they own and have registered with the state's Division of Motor Vehicles. The minimum amounts of coverage that are required under Rhode Island law are:

  • $25,000 liability for the injury or death of one person (a passenger, another driver, pedestrian, etc.) in an accident
  • $50,000 total liability for all injuries or death resulting from a single accident, and
  • $25,000 liability for property damage.

These minimum coverage requirements are just that -- the minimums that Rhode Island law requires. You may want to carry additional liability coverage, to avoid a situation where you cause an accident and the damages exceed your policy limits. If that happens, you could be personally on the financial hook to make up the difference.

You may also be contractually obligated to carry additional coverage, above and beyond what the law requires in Rhode Island. For example, if you lease or finance a vehicle, the terms of your contract may require you to add collision or comprehensive coverage to your policy, so that the vehicle is protected regardless of the cause of damage. Learn more about the different car insurance coverage options.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage

Rhode Island requires that car insurance companies doing business in the state offer UIM coverage to anyone purchasing a policy. You have the option of rejecting UIM coverage in Rhode Island, but you must do so in writing. Learn more about Uninsured Motorist Coverage and Underinsured Motorist Coverage.

More Information on Rhode Island Car Insurance Rules

The Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Insurance Division, has a Consumer’s Guide to Rhode Island Auto Insurance. In addition, our article Rhode Island's Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations is a helpful resource.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLO-web4:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205