How much car insurance do I need in South Carolina?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in South Carolina, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
The law in South Carolina mandates that vehicle owners have minimum levels of liability insurance on their vehicles. The minimum coverage amounts required in South Carolina are:
- $25,000 per person for injury or death (a passenger, or another driver, pedestrian, etc.) in an accident
- $50,000 total per accident for all resulting injuries or death, and
- $25,000 for property damage.
It is important to consider that if you cause an accident that results in damages that are higher than your policy limits, you are probably going to be personally responsible for the balance, so it may make sense to carry higher liability limits than the minimums set out above.
In addition to increasing your coverage limits, you can add options like collision or comprehensive coverage to your policy -- and you may be contractually obligated to do so if you are financing or leasing a vehicle. Learn more about types of car insurance coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage in South Carolina
South Carolina requires that every car insurance policy include uninsured motorist coverage in an amount equal to the minimum liability requirements listed above. In addition, there must be $10,000 in coverage for damage to the policy holder's vehicle, or other property. The law in South Carolina also requires car insurance companies to offer underinsured motorist coverage; however, auto owners may decline to purchase it.
What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in South Carolina?
According to the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, if you are caught driving without insurance: "Your privilege to drive, license plate and vehicle registration may be suspended and you may have to pay a $200.00 reinstatement fee. You will also have to pay $5.00 for each day your vehicle was uninsured, up to $200.00... .You must pay the $200.00 reinstatement fee and $5.00 per day fee for each vehicle that was covered by the policy."
Learn more about South Carolina Auto Insurance Laws & Regulations.