How much car insurance do I need in West Virginia?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in West Virginia, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In West Virginia, vehicle owners must carry car insurance coverage at the following minimum amounts on any vehicle registered and in operation in the state:
- $20,000 per person for bodily injury caused by an accident
- $40,000 total per accident for bodily injury when more than one person is injured
- $10,000 for property damage
These are only the minimum coverage amounts required under West Virginia law. In some situations, you may want to carry additional types (and amounts) of coverage. For example, when you finance or lease a vehicle, you'll probably be contractually obligated to add comprehensive coverage to your car insurance policy. Learn more about the different types of car insurance coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage in West Virginia
You must carry UIM coverage in West Virginia in an amount equal to the liability amounts for bodily injury listed above, i.e. 20/40. UIM coverage is designed to protect you if you are in an accident with an at-fault driver who does not have enough insurance to cover your losses -- or who has no insurance at all. To learn more about UIM coverage, check out the articles in our Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Insurance section.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in West Virginia?
Under West Virginia Code, Chapter 17D, Article 2A-7, a vehicle owner who drives without proper insurance coverage will be subject to the following penalties:
- First Offense: Your driver's license and registration will be suspended until you provide current proof of insurance. If you provide this proof within 30 days, and pay a $200 fine before the effective date of your suspension, no suspension will occur
- Second Offense (if within five years of the first): Your driver's license will be suspended for 30 days, and your registration will be suspended until you provide proof of insurance.
- Third Offense (if within five years of the first and second): Your driver's license will be suspended for 90 days, and your registration will be suspended until you provide proof of insurance.
For more details on car insurance rules in West Virginia, you can read our article West Virginia Car Insurance Laws and Regulations.