How much car insurance do I need in Wisconsin?

Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Wisconsin, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.

Wisconsin auto insurance laws have undergone recent changes. If you purchased or renewed your policy between January 1, 2010 and October 31, 2011, your insurance carrier was required to offer you the following minimum amounts of car insurance coverage:

  • $50,000 per person for injuries caused by a car accident
  • $100,000 total per accident where more than one person is injured
  • $15,000 for property damage in each accident
  • Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for injury liability.
  • Underinsured motorist coverage with minimum limits of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident

If you purchase or renew your policy after October 31, 2011 in Wisconsin, your insurance carrier must offer you the following minimum coverage:

  • $25,000 for each person injured in a crash
  • $50,000 for each accident where more than one person is injured
  • $10,000 for property damage in each accident, and
  • Uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for injury liability.

It may be wise to carry liability coverage with higher limits than the state minimums. Otherwise, you could be on the financial hook if you're at fault for a serious accident and the other driver's medical bills exceed the amount of your coverage.

And in some situations, such as when you lease or finance a vehicle, you may be contractually required to add additional protection (such as comprehensive coverage) to your policy. Learn more about different types of car insurance coverage.

What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Wisconsin?

If you get caught driving without insurance in Wisconsin, you may be subject to the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • Suspended driver's license and/or registration
  • A $10 fine for simply not having proof of insurance at the time of a traffic stop
  • A $5,000 fine if you offer proof of insurance that is fraudulent

Get more information on car insurance in Wisconsin

The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) in Wisconsin has an online Consumer's Guide to Wisconsin Auto Insurance. You can also find more information at the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles and in our article Wisconsin Auto Insurance Laws & Regulations.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NOLO-web3:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205