How much car insurance do I need in Wyoming?
Learn about minimum insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in Wyoming, consequences for driving without insurance, and more.
In Wyoming, vehicle owners must carry minimum levels of car insurance coverage on each registered vehicle they plan on operating in the state. The minimum amounts of coverage that are required under Wyoming law are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injuries suffered in an accident,
- $50,000 total per accident for bodily injuries, if more than one person is hurt, and
- $20,000 per accident for property damage.
Although carrying these amounts of minimum coverage means you are in compliance with the law, you may want to increase the limits or add optional types of car insurance coverage. For example, liability coverage will not protect you against damage to your vehicle if you are at-fault for a car accident. To protect your property against such an event, you would need to add either collision or comprehensive coverage to your policy.
It can be tempting to purchase insurance with lower coverage amounts because the monthly premiums are lower. However, if you cause a car accident, and the other drivers' and passengers' losses are greater than your coverage limits, you will be on the financial hook for the difference. In a serious accident, that could add up to thousands of dollars.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage Not Required in Wyoming
In Wyoming, you do not have to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. This kind of coverage protects you if you are in an accident with an at-fault driver who does not have enough insurance to cover your losses -- including medical bills and lost income -- or who has no car insurance at all. Your UIM coverage would kick in to fill in the gap. Learn more in our Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage section.
More Information on Car Insurance in Wyoming
The Wyoming Department of Insurance's Auto Insurance page includes FAQ and a Personal Automobile Insurance Guide for Wyoming vehicle owners and drivers. You can also check out our article Wyoming Auto Insurance Laws & Regulations for more details on car insurance rules in the state.