Oklahoma Auto Insurance Laws and Regulations
A look at Oklahoma car insurance coverage requirements for vehicles in operation in the state, and other laws that might affect a car accident claim in Oklahoma.
Talk to a Car Accident Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
This article looks at car insurance laws and regulations in Oklahoma. We’ll explain how Oklahoma’s fault-based insurance system works after a car accident, and discuss the kinds of car insurance coverage required for vehicles in operation in Oklahoma. If you’re looking for more general information on the legal rules related to auto accidents in Oklahoma, check out our article Car Accident Laws in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma is a "Fault" Car Insurance State
Oklahoma follows a traditional "fault" or “tort” system when it comes to liability for a car accident. This means the person who was at fault for the car accident is liable for all personal injury or property damage stemming from the crash, and usually his or her insurance policy will be looked to in order to satisfy this liability. In Oklahoma, a person who has been injured in an auto accident can usually seek redress in one of three ways:
- Filing a claim with his or her own insurer (who will then pursue a subrogation claim with the at-fault driver’s insurer)
- Pursuing a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurer (sometimes called a “third party” car insurance claim)
- Filing a lawsuit against the at-fault driver
Note: In no-fault states, an injured motorist must usually first exhaust his or her own policy’s limits or reach a statutory threshold of damages before pursuing a claim against the at-fault driver. Remedies are also limited in these states. While this is not necessarily a concern for Oklahoma drivers, you can learn more about no-fault rules in our No-Fault Car Insurance section.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Oklahoma
Oklahoma requires that owners of motor vehicles carry liability insurance on any vehicle driven in the state. Under Oklahoma law, the minimum coverage a driver is required to carry is:
- $25,000 for the injury or death of one person (yourself, a passenger, another driver, pedestrian, etc.)
- $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a single accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Keep in mind that while these are the minimum amounts required by law, carrying policies with higher coverage limits is usually a good idea. If you are found at fault for an accident and the damages exceed the limits of your policy, then you may find yourself personally on the hook for the difference.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Though Oklahoma law requires all insurance sellers to offer uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) with every policy, it does not require that motorists purchase this additional protection. UIM coverage is a supplemental feature of your own policy, intended to protect you if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver who has no insurance or whose coverage is insufficient to cover the damages caused by the accident.
For instance, if you have $30,000 in medical bills following an accident, but the at-fault driver has only the state minimum of $25,000 in liability insurance, then your sufficient UIM coverage would make up the $5,000 difference.
For more information on UIM coverage, see Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage.
Getting More Information
For more information on Oklahoma’s motor vehicle insurance requirements straight from the government, check out the Oklahoma Insurance Department’s car insurance FAQ page.