The short answer is yes, you’re required to have "MedPay" (short for "medical payments") coverage as part of your overall car insurance coverage in Maine. Read on for the basics of how MedPay coverage works, and the details of Maine's requirements.
Medical payments coverage is distinct from other kinds of car insurance coverage (such as liability and collision coverage) in that it applies only to the costs of medical treatment for the driver and any passengers in the covered vehicle after a car accident. It doesn’t apply to anyone who was injured in another vehicle in the accident, or to pedestrians, bicyclists, or anyone else who was not driving or riding in the covered vehicle at the time of the crash. It also doesn’t take into account who might have been at fault for the underlying car accident.
The fine print of most MedPay policy language usually includes special rules that give your car insurance carrier the right to recover amounts paid for medical treatment if you end up collecting damages from another source. For example, let’s say you get an injury settlement from the other driver’s car insurance company. In that situation, your own car insurer would likely be entitled to get reimbursed for what was paid out under your MedPay coverage. So, make sure you understand how your MedPay coverage works if you (or an injured passenger) want to make a claim. Learn more about Medical Payments Car Insurance Coverage.
Now that you understand how MedPay works, let’s look at the requirements for Maine, where an owner of an insured vehicle must carry a minimum of $2,000 in MedPay coverage, per person. That’s according to Maine Revised Statutes Title 29-A section 1605-A. As the statute makes clear, this coverage is intended "for medical costs incurred as a result of injuries sustained in an accident involving the insured vehicle by the driver and passengers in that vehicle."
Keep in mind that this $2,000 per person limit is only the minimum required by Maine law. It might be a good idea to carry more MedPay coverage, since this insurance is meant to offer a relatively quick path to covered medical care for you and your family after an accident. Most companies offer up to $5,000 or $10,000 in MedPay coverage, so it's usually possible to exceed the $2,000 coverage minimum.
Section 1605-A provides a few more key details to know about MedPay in Maine: