If you're buying car insurance for a private vehicle in New Hampshire, you're required to add "MedPay" (short for "medical payments") coverage to your policy. Read on for the basics of how MedPay coverage works, and the details of New Hampshire's requirements.
Medical payments coverage is somewhat unique when compared with other kinds of car insurance coverage (such as liability and collision coverage), in that it applies only to the costs of medical treatment for the driver and any passengers in the covered vehicle after a car accident. It won't cover anyone who was injured in another vehicle in the accident, or to pedestrians, bicyclists, or anyone else who was not driving or riding in the covered vehicle when the crash occurred. It also doesn’t take into account who might have been at fault for the accident.
The fine print of most MedPay policy language usually includes special rules that give your car insurance carrier the right to recover amounts paid for medical treatment if you end up collecting damages from another source. For example, if you get an injury settlement from the other driver’s car insurance company, your own car insurer would likely be entitled to get reimbursed for what was paid out under your MedPay coverage. So, make sure you understand how your MedPay coverage works if you want to make a claim. Learn more about Medical Payments Car Insurance Coverage.
Now that you understand how MedPay works, let’s look at the requirements for New Hampshire, where New Hampshire Revised Statutes Title XXI section 264:16 says that the owner of an insured vehicle must carry a minimum of $1,000 in MedPay coverage, per person. As the statute makes clear, this coverage is intended "for medical costs incurred as a result of injuries sustained in an accident involving the insured vehicle by the driver and passengers in said vehicle."
It's important to note that this $1,000 per person limit is only the minimum required under New Hampshire. It could be a good idea to carry a higher limit, since MedPay coverage is meant to offer a relatively quick path to medical care for you and your family after an accident (which can come in quite handy, especially if you don't have health insurance). Most companies offer up to $5,000 or $10,000 in MedPay coverage, so it's usually possible to exceed New Hampshire's $1,000 coverage minimum.
Section 264:16 provides a few more key details to know about MedPay in New Hampshire: