Utah is one of around of a dozen states that follow some version of a no-fault car insurance system. That means when a car accident happens, anyone injured must make a claim under any available no-fault insurance coverage first (and sometimes exclusively), regardless of who caused the crash.
In this article, we'll discuss:
In Utah, vehicle owners must carry at least $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage throughout any vehicle's registration period if:
It's important to note that $3,000 is the minimum amount of PIP coverage that's required under state law in Utah. Vehicle owners can purchase a car insurance policy that provides PIP coverage in a higher amount.
And keep in mind that no-fault or PIP car insurance doesn't apply to vehicle damage, or to property of any kind that's damaged in a car accident. Vehicle owners and others are free to pursue a claim for property damage against the person who caused the accident.
In addition to the policyholder/vehicle owner themselves, the following people may also be covered under no-fault/PIP in Utah:
According to Utah law (specifically, Utah Code section 31A-22-307), personal injury protection coverage benefits include:
Like all no-fault states, Utah limits the situations in which people injured in car accidents can step outside the no-fault system and file a liability insurance claim or car accident lawsuit against others who may have caused the accident.
Before filing a lawsuit after a car accident in Utah, an injured person must first have incurred $3,000 in medical expenses stemming from the accident, or must have suffered certain kinds of serious injuries as a result of the accident. In Utah, the kinds of injuries that qualify under this "injury threshold" are:
Besides the $3,000 in PIP coverage we've already discussed, Utah requires vehicle drivers to carry certain other minimum auto insurance coverage if they want to drive legally in the state:
These amounts are known as "25/65/15," and along with PIP, they represent the minimum required insurance in Utah. This coverage pays for injuries or property damage suffered by other people in an accident, but it doesn't pay for your own injuries or property damage.
Also, if a court finds that you are responsible for an accident, your insurance will only pay for bodily injuries and property damage up to the limits on the policy—$25,000/$65,000 for injuries and $15,000 for property damage, if you only have minimum coverage. If the other parties' bills add up to more than these amounts, however, you may be personally responsible for any amount left over after your insurance has reached its limit.
No. While car insurance carriers in Utah are required to include uninsured motorist coverage with any car insurance policy issued in the state, policy purchasers are free to reject this kind of coverage as long as they do so in writing.
But consider that UIM coverage can be crucial if you're in an accident with a driver who doesn't have any insurance, so it's a good idea to understand how it works. Learn more about what happens if you're hit by an uninsured driver.
It's always a good idea to familiarize yourself with your state's car insurance rules. But if you've been in a car accident, you might need more than just information. Especially if you were seriously hurt, or you're having trouble getting an insurance company to come to the table with a fair injury settlement, it might be time to discuss your situation with an experienced legal professional.
Learn more about when you might need a lawyer after a car accident, and get tips on finding the right car accident attorney for you and your case. You can also use the tools on this page to connect with an injury lawyer in your area.