Shad Withers, an Idaho native, received his undergraduate degree in Political Science and Business from Utah State University, where he was a member of the Political Science Honor Society, Pi Sigma Alpha. Thereafter, Mr. Withers attended the Thomas M. Cooley Law School in Lansing, Michigan, where he received multiple writing awards and graduated cum laude. Following law school, Mr. Withers was an attorney in the Product Liability / Mass Tort Litigation group at the international law firm, Sidley Austin in Chicago, Illinois.
Mr. Withers moved to Oklahoma in 2008, where he has successfully represented the interests of businesses and individuals in matters involving breach of contract, insurance coverage, bad faith, construction defect, catastrophic motor vehicle collisions, medical malpractice, negligent credentialing, Title VII discrimination, and the sales practices of national broker-dealers.
Articles By Shad Withers
Most states have passed statutes that are commonly referred to as "dram shop" laws.
Most states in the U.S. have civil statutes known as "dram shop" laws, which can be used to impose liability on bars, restaurants, liquor stores, and other licensed vendors if they provide alcohol to a clearly intoxicated person, or to a minor, who then goes on to injure someone else in an alcohol-related
Kansas requires more than most states when it comes to mandatory car insurance coverage minimums. In Kansas, drivers are required to carry the following insurance coverage: (1) Liability, (2) Personal Injury Protection, and (3) Uninsured/Underinsured (UIM). For Liability coverage, Kansas requires the following minimum coverage amounts:
California is one of around 38 U.S. states that have some version of a "dram shop" law on the books. A "dram" is an old British measurement similar to a “shot,” so that's where these laws get their name.
Most states in the U.S. have statutes known as "dram shop" laws. These laws can make a business liable for providing alcohol to a minor, or to someone who is clearly intoxicated, if that person causes injury, death, or property damage in an alcohol-related accident.
Many states have laws that provide a way for people who are injured by an intoxicated person to recover damages from a business that supplied alcohol to the intoxicated person. These laws are sometimes referred to as “dram shop” laws (they get their name because alcohol used to be sold per a unit of measure called a “dram”).
A number of states have statutes on the books known as "dram shop" laws, which can be used to impose liability on a business (or its employees) for providing alcohol to someone who is obviously intoxicated and goes on to cause a drunk driving accident or some other alcohol-related mishap. Some states
Most states in the U.S. have passed some version of a "dram shop" law.
In Rhode Island, in order to drive legally, drivers must maintain minimum levels of car insurance coverage for each vehicle they own and have registered with the state's Division of Motor Vehicles. The minimum amounts of coverage that are required under Rhode Island law are: $25,000 liability for the
In Pennsylvania, the law requires vehicle owners to carry certain minimum amounts of car insurance coverage on any car or truck registered and in operation in the state. The minimum required amounts of coverage are: $15,000 per person for personal injury protection (PIP) $30,000 total per accident,